April 2000 AAOS Report

Names in the news

The Ruth Jackson Orthopaedic Society (RJOS) honored Laura Tosi, MD, for her contributions to RJOS and to the field of orthopaedic surgery nationally. Dr. Tosi was a strong advocate of the popular "Got Milk" campaign and has worked to call national attention to the cost of musculoskeletal diseases. Frank Sim, MD, John Bergfeld, MD, and Mark Hoffer, MD, were honored for their support and continued encouragement to women entering the field of orthopaedic surgery. The awards were presented at the RJOS annual luncheon in Orlando. Elected to the Board at the meeting were Dale E. Jarka, MD, president; J. Sybil Biermann, MD, vice president; and Holly Duck, MD, secretary . . . Joseph P. Iannotti, MD, PhD, has been named chairman, department of orthopaedic surgery, the Cleveland Clinic Foundation. . . . New officers of the J. Robert Gladden Orthopaedic Society are Augustus A. White III, MD, president; James A. Hill, MD, vice president; Raymond O. Pierce, MD, secretary, and E. Anthony Rankin, MD, treasurer . . . David Bradford, MD, will step down on September 1 as chairman of orthopaedic surgery at the University of California-San Francisco, but will maintain his other current medical duties.

AAOS Home Previous Page