April 2002 AAOS Report

Names in the news

The American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons announces its 2002 Board of Directors: Douglas A. Dennis, MD, president; Clifford W. Colwell Jr., MD, first vice president; Richard F. Santore, MD, second vice-president; Joseph C. McCarthy, MD, third vice-president; James B. Stiehl, MD, secretary; William J. Hozack, MD, treasurer; John J. Callaghan, MD, immediate past president; Daniel J. Berry, Thomas P. Schmalzried, MD, David G. Lewallen, MD, and J. Wesley Mesko, MD, members-at-large . . . The new board of the Orthopaedic Trauma Association includes Thomas A. Russell, MD, president; Marc F. Swiontkowski, MD, president-elect; Jeffrey O. Anglen, MD, secretary; Andrew N. Pollak, MD, chief financial officer; Donald A. Wiss, MD, immediate past president; and Douglas R. Dirschl, MD, Alan L. Jones, MD, and Berton R. Moed, MD, members at large . . . The 2002-2003 Board of Directors of the Orthopaedic Research Society includes J. Edward Puzas, PhD, president; Stephen B. Trippel, MD, president-elect; Thomas D. Brown, PhD, past president; Gunnar B.J. Andersson, MD, past president; Thomas P. Schmalzried, MD, treasurer; Randy N. Rosier, MD, secretary; and Scott D. Boden, MD, secretary-elect . . . B. Sonny Bal, MD, assistant professor of orthopaedics at the University of Missouri, received the 2002 Traveling Fellowship Award from the Clinical Orthopaedic Society. The award sends Dr. Bal to Japan, where he will study ceramics in total joint replacements.

AAOS Home Previous Page