AAOS Report - April, 2005

Names in the news

The 2005 OTA officers include Paul Tornetta III, MD, president; Michael J. Bosse, MD, president-elect; Robert Probe, MD, secretary; Roy Sanders, MD, immediate past president; Alan L. Jones, MD, chief financial officer; Richard E. Buckley, MD; Melvin P. Rosenwasser, MD; and James P. Stannard, MD, members-at-large; and Ross Leighton, MD, annual meeting program chair.

Donald Meredith, MD, and his wife Marjorie have made the single largest scholarship gift ever to Minnesota State University, Mankato - more than $700,000 to fully endow the Meredith Scholarship program within the College of Science, Engineering and Technology.

The 2005-2006 officers for the Ruth Jackson Orthopaedic Society are Kimberly J. Templeton, MD, president; Mary I. O’Connor, MD, vice president; Sharon Lee Hame, MD, secretary; Elizabeth A. Ouellette, MD, treasurer; Dana A. Mannor, MD, member-at-large; Kristy L. Weber, MD, member-at-large; Ellen M. Raney, MD, immediate past president; and Daneca M. DiPaolo, MD, past president.

David A. Wong, MD, MSc, FRCS, chair of the AAOS Patient Safety Committee, served as the main speaker for an audio conference, titled “Wrong Site Surgery: Why Does It Continue to Occur?” on March 31, 2005.

The Orthopaedic Research Society elected 2005-2006 officers at its annual meeting in Washington, D.C. They are Christopher H. Evans, PhD, president; Joshua J. Jacobs, MD, president-elect; Henry Donahue, PhD, secretary-elect; and Suneel Apte, PhD, member-at-large. ORS also honored the following: Stuart L. Weinstein, MD, ORS/AOA Shands lecturer; Brian Elmengaard, MD, William Harris Award sponsored by the Harris Fellows Club; and Antonios Mikos, PhD, Marshall R. Urist Award.

The voice of Eric Novack, MD, is heard from 3 to 4 p.m. every Sunday on Talk Radio 960 AM, KKNT, in Phoenix. The program features leaders who shape health care policy and honors health heroes who deliver time, energy and expertise to health care.

Close Archives | Previous Page