AAOS Report - April, 2006

Boards approve position statement on children’s musculoskeletal health, hear progress reports

At their March meeting, the Boards of Directors of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons and the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) approved a position statement on children’s musculoskeletal health, adopted a revised policy on Web site advertising, heard updates on trauma/on-call issues, patient safety projects and the AAOS Patient-Centered Care initiative, and recognized several members retiring from volunteer positions.

AAOS Past President Stuart L. Weinstein, MD, thanked volunteers and staff, including CEO Karen L. Hackett, CAE, FACHE, for successfully relocating the Annual Meeting to Chicago after Hurricane Katrina devastated New Orleans.

AAOS First Vice President James H. Beaty, MD, provided an action plan for implementing the recommendations of the Academy’s Project Team on Trauma Care/On-Call Issues, which he chairs. The plan includes developing a position statement, collecting information, working with the Orthopaedic Trauma Association to develop guidelines on transfer of orthopaedic patients, developing draft model legislation, continuing to oppose a new acute care specialty designation and monitoring the effect of changes in resident work hours on orthopaedic training.

The Board approved a position statement developed by the Public Education and Media Relations Committee on children and musculoskeletal health. The position statement stresses the importance of physical activity for children and calls for evidence-based research to improve patient care. The Board also approved the revised “Internet Web Site Advertising and Sponsorship Policy,” which allows for placement of advertising on selected landing pages linked to the AAOS home page, but not directly on the home page.

David A. Wong, MD, chair of the Patient Safety Committee, reported on the results of a medical errors survey of AAOS members on frequency, cause and outcomes of medical errors. Frances A. Farley, MD, chair of the Patient-Centered Care Project Team, reported that most projects are already underway.

A Council on Education plan aimed at helping authors and presenters better understand their intellectual property rights and responsibilities was approved. Volunteers will be required to review a learning guide and take a 10-question test every three years.

The Committee Appointment Committee nominated and the Board approved Frank B. Kelly, MD, as chairman, and Alan S. Hilibrand, MD, as vice chairman of the new Communications Cabinet. Eight individuals retiring from the Board or Councils were recognized for their service, including Dr. Farley and Oheneba Boachie-Adjei, MD, members-at-large; Robert W. Bucholz, MD, first past president; James H. Herndon, MD, second past president; Edward A. Toriello, MD, treasurer; Dr. Kelly, chair of the Board of Councilors; Mark C. Gebhardt, MD, chair of the Board of Specialty Societies (BOS)(COMSS), and Stuart A. Hirsch, MD, chair of the Council on Communications.

Close Archives | Previous Page