April 1997 AAOS Report

Names in the news

George E. Omer Jr., MD, received the Bernard S. Rodey Award from the University of New Mexico School of Medicine's Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation . . . David P. Green, MD, was awarded the 1997 Distinguished Alumnus of the New York Orthopaedic Hospital . . . Ann M. Babbitt, MD, received the Physician of the Year award from the International Society for Clinical Densitometry . . . The Orthopaedic Research Society elected Richard A. Brand Jr., MD, president; Dwight T. Davy, PhD, president-elect; Steve A. Goldstein, PhD, secretary; John H. Healey, MD, treasurer; and Harry E. Rubash, MD, treasurer-elect . . . New officers of the Knee Society are W. Norman Scott, MD, president; James A. Rand, MD, first vice president; Kenneth A. Krackow, MD, second vice president; Thomas Thornhill, MD, third vice president; Russell E. Windsor, MD, secretary; Gerard A. Engh, MD, treasurer; and Robert Booth, MD and Giles Scuderi, MD, members-at-large . . . The American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons elected Merrill A. Ritter, MD, president; Richard H. Rothman, MD, first vice president; James A. Rand, MD, second vice president; Richard B. Welch, MD, third vice president; John J. Callaghan, MD, secretary; Clifford W. Colwell Jr., MD, treasurer; and Brian F. Kavanagh, MD; David G. Lewallen, MD; James T. Caillouette, MD; and Harry E. Rubash, MD, members-at-large.

AAOS Home Previous Page