April 1998 AAOS Report

James D. Heckman, MD, was named president of the Academy at the 1998 Annual Meeting in New Orleans. In his first vice presidential address, Dr. Heckman stressed the themes of patient care and unity. Dr. Heckman said "we must stand united within the Academy, among orthopaedic organizations and even in our communities as we keep our eye on the sparrow, doing what is best for our patients." Reviewing the intiatives for the coming year, Dr. Heckman said "the issues of work force will be of paramount concern." The RAND study "clearly shows that one key element in the work force is the demand for orthopaedic services that are reasonably priced," Dr. Heckman said. He continued, "Who is better educated and trained in musculoskeletal care than we?" Instead of complaining about the competition, "why not turn the tables and aggressively pursue that part of the market by promoting ourselves to primary care providers and the public as the best providers of care in these arenas," he said.

At the 1998 Annual Meeting, Robert D. DÕAmbrosia, MD, became first vice president, and S. Terry Canale, MD, was elected second vice president. Stuart A. Hirsch, MD, was reelected treasurer. William J. Robb III, MD, was elected secretary. Named as new members-at-large are Thomas P. Schmalzried, MD, and William A. Sims, MD. Alvin H. Crawford, MD, and Aaron G. Rosenberg, MD, will continue to serve as members-at-large in 1998-1999. Douglas W. Jackson, MD, and Kenneth E. DeHaven, MD, will serve on the board as past presidents. The 1998-1999 Board of Directors also includes Scott B. Scutchfield, MD, chairman, Board of Councilors; Edward A. Toriello, MD, chairman-elect; and newly-elected secretary John R. Tongue, MD. John A. Bergfeld, MD, was elected chairman of the Council of Musculoskeletal Specialty Societies, and Vernon T. Tolo, MD, chairman-elect of COMSS.

AAOS Home Previous Page