August 1997 AAOS Report

Names in the news

James S. Breivis, MD, was elected to the board of directors of the International Society of Technology Assessment in Health Care . . . Howard H. Steel, MD, received the Distinguished Achievement Award from the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America. Dr. Steel also recently was honored with the establishment of the Howard H. Steel Endowed Chair in Orthopaedics at Temple University Hospital in Philadelphia . . . New officers of the Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons are David J. Schurman, MD, president; Charles R. Clark, MD, first vice president; Stuart A. Green, MD, second vice president; Maureen A. Finnegan, MD, secretary; and David G. Lewallen, MD, treasurer . . . The American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine elected Duane G. Messner, MD, president; Douglas W. Brown, MD, president-elect; William G. Clancy Jr., MD, vice president; Clarence L. Shields Jr., MD, secretary-elect; Peter A. Indelicato, MD, member-at-large; and Stephen J. O'Brien, MD, member-at-large . . . New officers of the Association of Children's Prosthetic-Orthotic Clinics are Keith D. VandenBrink, MD, president; Robert Fielden, MD, vice president; and Cathy Schroeder, RN, secretary-treasurer . . .The Orthopaedic Rehabilitation Association elected Gay R. Anderson, MD, president, and J. Robin DeAndrade, MD, president-elect.

AAOS Home Previous Page