December 2000 AAOS Report

AOS accepts 55 new members, elects officers

The American Orthopaedic Association (AOA) announced at its 113th annual meeting that it has accepted 55 new members. Orthopaedic surgeons achieve membership in the AOA by invitation only. Members are selected by their contributions to orthopaedic education, research and practice. To become an AOA member, candidates are required to have practiced orthopaedics for more than five years, achieved certification, and demonstrated superior scientific and professional achievements. Also at the meeting, the AOA welcomed eight new executive committee members and officers. Joseph A. Buckwalter, MD, became president, and Michael A. Simon, MD, became first president-elect.

AAOS Home Previous Page