December 2000 AAOS Report

Names in the News

Alumni, faculty and patients contributed more than $2 million to endow the Carl L. Nelson Chair of Orthopaedics. The investiture ceremony took place on Oct. 10, 2000 at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Campus in Little Rock . . . The Scoliosis Research Society has elected new officers. They are: Alvin H. Crawford, MD, president; Denis S. Drummond, MD, president elect; Keith H. Bridwell, MD, first vice president; John B. Emans, MD, secretary; Behrooz A. Akbarnia, MD, treasurer; John P. Lubicky, MD, George H. Thompson, MD, Stewart I. Bailey, MD, and Thomas S. Whitecloud III, MD, directors at large . . . Officers elected at the Academic Orthopaedic Society's annual meeting, held Oct. 27 to 28, 2000 in Chicago, included the following: John D. Lubahn, MD, president; Terry R. Light, MD, first vice president; Walter B. Greene, MD, 2nd vice president; Michele M. Zembo, MD, secretary-treasurer; and John R. Denton, MD, and Laura Lowe Tosi, MD, 2001 members at large. . . . . The Eastern Orthopaedic Association elected its 2000-2001 officers. James A. Nunley, MD, was elected president; A. Lee Osterman, MD, immediate past president; Edward A. Rankin, MD, first vice president; Shepard R. Hurwitz, MD, second vice president; J. Richard Bowen, MD, secretary; and Enzo J. Sella, MD, treasurer.

AAOS Home Previous Page