December 2004 AAOS Report

MLR Campaign big winner in 2004 Election

Election victories by medical liability reform supporters increase the chances of gaining a federal solution in the next election cycle, according to Stuart L. Weinstein, MD, chair of the AAOS Medical Liability Reform Oversight Committee. For the last two years, working with Doctors for Medical Liability Reform (DMLR) and the Alliance of Specialty Medicine, the American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons has been active in moving medical liability reform to the forefront of the health policy debate. “We were able to contribute to the successful election of five new ‘yes’ votes on liability reform. Candidates favoring medical liability reform won six out of eight open seats. In North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana and Oklahoma, the winning candidates signed the DMLR pledge to support medical liability. Two incumbents who support medical liability reform were re-elected.

“President Bush’s victory now ensures that meaningful federal tort reform will remain at the forefront of domestic policy initiatives and gives the physician community a four-year window to enact tort reform,” said Dr. Weinstein.

Planning has now begun on Phase II of the campaign. The window of opportunity will be narrow and the stakes high for our patients and for our profession. We will need each and every member of the orthopaedic community to answer the call to action,” said Dr. Weinstein.

Contributions for the next phase of the campaign are being sought. Your personal or corporate check should be made payable to: American Association of Orthopaedic Surgeons and sent to AAOS, Medical Liability Reform Campaign, 6300 N. River Road, Rosemont, Ill. 60018-9527.

Home Previous Page