AAOS Report - December, 2005

AAOS, OREF announce Tipton Leadership Award

The first annual William W. Tipton Jr., MD, Leadership Award will be presented at the 2006 Annual Meeting. The award was named in honor of the highly regarded AAOS executive vice president and chief executive officer who led the organization for nearly 10 years and served in numerous volunteer positions throughout his career. It was established by friends, colleagues and organizations to recognize both the accomplishments and unique character of the late Dr. Tipton. This new Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) endowment fund honors Dr. Tipton’s legacy.

The award will be bestowed annually to an Academy fellow who is a recognized leader among his/her peers and committed to the growth and service of orthopaedics. The honoree will receive a $5,000 donation to be used to further promote leadership in orthopaedics. Any Academy fellow in good standing may be nominated. For complete information on the nomination process and how to make a contribution online to the Dr. Tipton Endowment Fund.

Close Archives | Previous Page