December 1997 AAOS Report

Academy names annual research award winners

Winners of the Kappa Delta Awards and the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation Research Award have been announced by the Academy's Board of Directors, in conjunction with the Council on Research and Scientific Affairs and Committee on Research. Harry A. McKellop, PhD; Fu-wen Shen, MD; Bin Lu, MS; Patricia Campbell, PhD; and Ronald Salovey, will receive the Ann Doner Vaughn Award for "Development of an Extremely Wear Resistant Ultra High Molecular Weight Polyethylene for Total Hip Replacements." The Elizabeth Winston-Lanier Award will be presented to Bruce Caterson, PhD, for "The Use of Monoclonal Antibody Technology to Study Cartilage Metabolism in Health and Disease: A Retrospective Study." Farshid Guilak, PhD, will receive the Young Investigator Award for "The Biomechanics of the Chondrocyte in Articular Cartilage." The OREF Clinical Research Award will be given to Stuart L. Weinstein, MD, for "Natural History and Long Term Outcomes of Treatment of Pediatric Orthopaedic Conditions."

AAOS Home Previous Page