February 2000 AAOS Report

Names in the news

Steven P. Arnoczky, DVM, has received the 1999 Lifefime Achievement Award from the Bay Area Knee Society ... Mininder Kocher, MD, was recently awarded the 1999 Kilfoyle Award, presented by the New England Orthopaedic Society ... Patrick M.J. Hutton, MD, was recently elected as vice speaker to the Florida Medical Association ... Andrew W. Gurman, MD, was elected vice speaker to the House of Delegates of the Pennsylvania Medical Society . . . The Association of Children's Prosthetic Orthotics Clinics has appointed James Harder, MD, as the head of a committee to develop a program for the April 2000 meeting, relating to ways to be assured that children are represented in the initiative, especially limb deficient children ... Thad C. Stanford, MD, was honored by the Oregon School Activities Association's Delegate Assembly with its Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Stanford has served on the association's Sports Medicine Committee since it began in 1972 and has been the team doctor for some Salem, Oregon scbools for several decades ... The American Spinal Injury Association has elected Douglas E. Garland, MD, president and Jack E. Zigler, MD, secretary-treasurer ... Anthony M. DiGioia, III, MD, has been nominated by Design News as a candidate for Engineer of the Year Award. He is being recognized for the award as a result of his orthopaedic surgical excellence in hip replacement surgery and his patented computer-assisted Hip Navigation System ... The Georgia Orthopaedic Society 2000 Board of Directors are Peter L. Meehan, MD, president; James W. Scott, MD, president-elect; Charles N. Hubbard, MD, secretary-treasurer; Stephen M. McCollam, MD, secretary treasurer-elect; Francis B. Kelly, MD, board of councilors/past president; Jeffrey T. Nugent, MD, board of councilors; John G. Seiler, III, MD, Medical Association of Georgia delegate and interspecialty council.

AAOS Home Previous Page