January 2001 AAOS Report

Kappa Delta, OREF Awards to be presented at Annual Meeting

Four awards for significant musculoskeletal research will be presented at the Opening Ceremonies of the 2001 AAOS Annual Meeting in the Moscone Convention Center, San Francisco on Feb. 28, 2001. Three awards are sponsored by the Kappa Delta Sorority, which has cooperated with the Academy for more than 50 years to make the awards available to researchers. The Orthopaedic Education and Research Foundation (OREF) also will present an annual award. Scott P. Bruder, MD, PhD, vice president, orthobiologics, DePuy Orthopaedics, Inc., and adjunct professor, department of orthopaedics, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio, will receive the Ann Doner Vaughn Award for his research on "Bone Generation and Regeneration: From Embryonic Chicks to Human Clinical Therapy." The sorority's Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award will go to Myron Spector, PhD, professor of orthopaedic surgery (biomaterials), Harvard Medical School, and director of orthopaedic research, department of orthopaedic surgery, The Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Mass. His paper is "Expression of Muscle Actin in Contraction of Chondrocytes, Osteoblasts and Musculoskeletal Tissue Fibroblasts." Kappa Delta's Young Investigator Award will be presented to Robert L. Sah, MD, ScD, department of bioengineering, University of California, San Diego, for work on "Articular Cartilage Tissue Engineering: Biological and Biomechanical Foundations." The OREF Clinical Research Award will go to Bruce J. Sangeorzan, MD; Allan Tencer, PhD; and Randy Ching, PhD, all of the University of Washington, Harborview Medical Center, Seattle, Wash. for research on "Changes in the Talo-Calcaneal Joint in Pathological Conditions in the Hindfoot."

AAOS Home Previous Page