January 2002 AAOS Report

Names in the news

The Academic Orthopaedic Society has elected officers for 2000 to 2001. They are: president, Terry R. Light, MD; president-elect, Walter B. Greene, MD; second president-elect, James J. Hamilton, MD; secretary-treasurer, Michelle M. Zembo, MD; past president 2000-2001, John D. Lubahn, MD, past president 1999-2000, Michael G. Ehrlich, MD; members at large, John Denton, MD; Laura Lowe Tosi, MD; Vincent D. Pellegrini Jr., MD an d John H. Healey, MD . . . Peter A. Keblish, MD, Orthopaedic Surgery Division, Lehigh Valley Hospital, was awarded the 2001 Sir John Charnley Award. This award was presented by the Arthritis Foundation at the Grand Soiree, "An Evening of Honors" on Oct. 20, 2001 at the Blue Mountain Ski Area Special Events Center in Palmerton, Penn . . . Kenneth DeHaven, MD, received the Bay Area Knee Society's Lifetime Achievement Award in San Francisco on Nov. 8, 2001 . . . The Cervical Spine Research Society announced its 2001/2002 Executive Board; Paul A. Anderson MD, president; Paul R. Cooper, MD, president-elect; Edward N. Hanley Jr, MD, vice-president; Bradford L. Currier, MD, secretary; and Thomas A. Zdeblick, MD, treasurer . . . Retired orthopaedic surgeon Richard Kemme, MD, of Greeley, Colo., received Saint Louis University's School of Medicine's 2001 outstanding alumnus award for volunteer service . . . Robert Matthew Bernstein, MD, has been named director of Pediatric Orthopedic Surgery at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center's Ahmanson Pediatric Center in Los Angeles.

AAOS Home Previous Page