January 2003 AAOS Report

Board appoints lay member, Diversity chair, 2004 leadership class

At its meeting on December 6-7 in Rosemont, Ill., the AAOS Board took a number of actions. It approved the appointment of the Academy's first lay Board member. She is Leslie L. Altick, executive vice president, group head, Consumer Deposits Group and California Marketing at Wells Fargo & Co. At its April 2001 meeting, the Board agreed that since patient safety/medical error concerns are such a major issue for the AAOS that an individual skilled or involved in patient safety would be highly desirable for the board. Ms. Altick is active in the patient safety-focused Leapfrog Group. She will join the Board at the Annual Meeting in New Orleans. Ramon Jimenez, MD, was appointed new chair of the Diversity Committee, replacing the current committee chair, Augustus White III, MD, PhD, whose term ends at the 2003 Annual Meeting.

The Board of Directors also approved appointment of the 2004 Class of Leadership Fellows. This one-year program trains fellows in the development of their volunteer and leadership skills and enhances the skills of those who have already assumed leadership roles. The new class includes Judith F. Baumhauer, MD; Craig Howard Bennett, MD; Gregory Alexander Brown, MD; Frances A. Farley, MD: James C. Farmer, MD; Thomas R. Hunt, MD; Matthew Jimenez, MD; Tamara Lynn Martin, MD; Ronald Anthony Navarro, MD; Bradley James Nelson, MD: Michael Lloyd Parks, MD; Susan Scheri, MD; Susan E. Stephens, MD; David D. Teuscher, MD; and Robert Horace Wilson, MD.

AAOS Home Previous Page