January 1996 AAOS Report

Kappa Delta Award winners

The Academy's Board of Directors, in conjunction with the Council on Research and Scientific Affairs and Committee on Research, announced the winners of the Kappa Delta Awards and the new Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) Clinical Research Award. Jon J.P. Warner, MD, Richard E. Debski, BS, and Freddie H. Fu, MD, will receive the Young Investigator Award for their paper "A Dynamic Model for Motion and Stability of the Glenohumeral Joint." The Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award will be awarded to Kathryn G. Vogel, PhD; Stephen P. Evanko, PhD; and James R. Robbins, PhD, for their work entitled "What Proteoglycan Content says about the Mechanical History of Tendon." The winners of the Ann Doner Vaughn Award are Malcolm H. Pope, PhD, Dr.Med.Sc.; Marianne Magnusson, PT, Dr.Med.Sc.; and David G. Wilder, PhD, for their paper "Low Back Pain and Whole Body Vibration." The OREF Clinical Research Award will be given to Dale M. Daniel, MD; Donald C. Fithian, MD; Mary Lou Stone, RPT; Barbara E. Dobson, LVN; William F. Luetzow, MD; and Kenton R. Kaufman, PhD, for their paper entitled "A Ten-Year Prospective Outcome Study of the ACL-Injured Patient." The Kappa Delta and OREF Award presentations and summary of papers will take place at the Annual Meeting on Thursday, Feb. 22, at 1 p.m. in the Ballroom of Georgia World Congress Center. All Academy members are encouraged to attend the awards presentation. The papers also will be presented in their entirety at the Orthopaedic Research Society meeting at 10:30 a.m. on Thursday, Feb. 22 at the Hyatt Regency Atlanta.

AAOS Home Previous Page