January 1996 AAOS Report

Names in the news

Alfred B. Swanson, MD, has received the American Medical Association's Scientific Achievement Award for 1996 . . . C. McCollister Evarts, MD, has been named senior vice president for health affairs, and dean of the College of Medicine at Penn State's Milton S. Hershey Medical Center . . . New officers of the Academic Orthopaedic Society are Gary E. Friedlaender, MD, president; Robert R. Karpman, MD, president-elect; Michael A. Simon, MD, second president-elect; and Michael G. Ehrlich, MD, secretary-treasurer . . . The Cervical Spine Research Society elected Steven R. Garfin, MD, president; Bruce E. Northrup, MD, president-elect; John F. Raycroft Jr., MD, vice president; Harry N. Herkowitz, MD, treasurer; and Christopher G. Ullrich, MD, secretary . . . New officers of the American Society for Surgery of the Hand are Andrew J. Weiland, MD, president; Dean S. Louis, MD, president-elect; Andrew K. Palmer, MD, vice president; Richard H. Gelberman, MD, secretary; and Vincent R. Hentz, MD, treasurer.

AAOS Home Previous Page