January 1998 AAOS Report

Names in the news

Lawrence C. Hurst, MD, has been appointed chairman, department of orthopaedics at the State University of New York at Stony Brook . . . The trustees of Columbia University, New York, N.Y., have established the Robert E. Carroll, MD Professorship in Surgery of the Hand in the department of orthopaedic surgery at the College of Physicians and Surgeons . . . Peter J. Fowler, MD, received the Lifetime Achievement Award of the Bay Area Knee Society in San Francisco . . . Howard S. An, MD, has been named the inaugural holder of the Morton International Chair for Spine Research at Rush University, Chicago . . . The Academic Orthopaedic Society elected Michael A. Simon, MD, president; Edward N. Hanley Jr., MD, first vice president; Michael G. Ehrlich, MD, second vice president; and Michael J. Goldberg, MD, secretary-treasurer.

AAOS Home Previous Page