January 1999 AAOS Report

Names in the news

Evan L. Flatow, MD, has been named chief of the Shoulder Service at the Leni and Peter W. May department of orthopaedics, Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York, N.Y. . . Alan C. Merchant, MD, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Bay Area Knee Society . . . Ernest W. Burgess, MD, received the 1998 Paul B. Magnuson Award from the department of veterans affairs, office of rehabilitation research and development . . . New officers of the Eastern Orthopaedic Association are Charles H. Classen Jr., MD, president; Chitranjan S. Ranawat, MD, immediate past president; A. Lee Osterman, MD, first vice president; James A. Nunley II, MD, second vice president; Michael Clancy, MD, secretary; John S. Goetcheus, MD, treasurer; Robert N. Richards Jr., MD, historian; Edward A. Rankin, MD, program chairman; and Mark R. Belsky, MD, membership chairman.

AAOS Home Previous Page