July 2001 AAOS Report

ABJS presents awards at annual meeting

The following awards were presented at the annual meeting of the Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons (ABJS) in April 2001: The Marshall R. Urist Young Investigator Award was presented to Orhun K. Muratoglu, PhD, for his work "A Highly Crosslinked, Melted Ultra-High Molecular Weight Polyethylene: Expanded Potential for Total Joint Arthroplasty." Michael D. Ries, MD, was named the Hip Society Scholar, and Michael D. Neel, MD, was named the Musculoskeletal Tumor Society Scholar. Abhinav B. Chhabra, MD, presented his work, "Mechanical Modulation of Embryonic Cartilage," an OREF Marshall R. Urist Resident Research Award funded by the ABJS.

AAOS Home Previous Page