July 2002 AAOS Report

Names in the news

The Indiana Orthopaedic Society has elected the following new officers: Gary Moore, MD, president; Rick Sasso, MD, president-elect; Mark Stevens, MD, secretary-treasurer; Joseph Baele, MD, member-at-large; Robert Rose, MD, member-at-large; Eric Monesmith, MD, membership chairman; and Bruce Rougraff, MD, director of medical education . . . Chadwick F. Smith, MD, in January 2002, received an honorary doctorate from the University of Murcia in Madrid, Spain for his international work for underprivileged children. In April 2002, Dr. Smith received an honorary doctorate from Deemed University in Chennai, India for his pioneering laser and biomechanical work in arthroscopy on the occasion of opening the first Indian Arthroscopic Academy . . . James B. Steichen, MD, recently presented the 25th anniversary lecture for the Centre Hospital of Luxembourg on the topic of "The Indiana Hand Center-Could it be a model for the country of Luxembourg?" Dr. Streichen was also the invited professor at the University of Nancy in France and the Institut Europeen de la Main in Nancy, where he had previously been awarded an honorary doctorate . . . The Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America recently elected new board officers. They are George H. Thompson, MD, president; Charles T. Price, MD, vice president; Scott Mubarak, MD, second vice president; Laura Tosi, MD, secretary; M. Anthony Ashworth, MD, treasurer; and R. Jay Cummings, MD, John Sarwark, MD, and David Skaggs, MD, members-at-large . . . William R.J. Rennie, MD, FRCSC, of Winnipeg, Manitoba was named president of the Canadian Orthopaedic Association at its recent annual meeting inVictoria, British Columbia. Dr. Rennie will serve as president until June 2003.

AAOS Home Previous Page