July 2002 AAOS Report

Patient Safety Committee chair, members appointed

David A. Wong, MD, MSc, FRCS, has been named chair of the new Patient Safety Committee. An active Fellow of the Academy since 1988, Dr. Wong chaired the AAOS Guidelines Committee and was a member of the AAOS Medical Errors Oversight Panel. He is also active in the North American Spine Society, where he is presently the first vice-president, chair of the Medical Errors Task Force and co-chair of the Guidelines Committee. An assistant clinical professor at the University of Colorado in Denver, Dr. Wong also is a former team surgeon for the U.S. Ski Team. Appointed to serve as committee members are Robert Brooks, MD; Dale Butler, MD; Howard Epps, MD; Steven Fountain, MD; Michael Goldberg, MD, and John Wickenden, MD. A representative of the Council on Academic Affairs will be appointed to the committee at a later date. The Patient Safety Committee works to promote orthopaedic patient safety and to reduce the potential of medical errors that could occur in orthopaedic practice

AAOS Home Previous Page