July 2003 AAOS Report

Names in the news

Jack Zigler, MD, was elected president of the American Spinal Injury Association . . . William W. Tipton Jr., MD, formerly AAOS executive vice president and now director of the organization's medical affairs department, on May 17 received the Alumni Achievement Citation from Creighton University in Omaha, Neb. for "distinguished service to his profession and humankind." . . .The Arthritis Foundation of Eastern Pennsylvania on May 31 awarded John J. Gartland, MD, its annual Sir John Charnley Award. . . . Jack J. Beller, MD, was recently inaugurated as the 98th President of the Oklahoma State Medical Association . . . The American Orthopaedic Association (AOA) and Zimmer, Inc. awarded Ignacio V. Ponseti, MD, the Second Annual AOA-Zimmer Award for Distinguished Contributions to Orthopaedics at the 116th AOA annual meeting in Charleston, S.C. The AOA, with the Endoscopy division of Smith & Nephew, Inc., also presented the Second Annual AOA-Smith & Nephew Endoscopy Distinguished Clinician Educator Award to Frank C. Wilson, MD . . . The U.S. Bone and Joint Decade (USBJD) has elected a new president-Regis J. O'Keefe, MD, PhD, professor of orthopaedics and oncology, Rochester University Medical Center, N.Y. Dr. O'Keefe succeeds Stuart L. Weinstein, MD, who stepped down because of his new position as AAOS second vice president.

AAOS Home Previous Page