AAOS Report - July , 2006

Names in the News

The Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America elected its 2006-2007 Board of Directors at its Annual Meeting, May 4-6, 2006. Board members are: Perry Schoenecker, MD, president; R. Baxter Willis, MD, president-elect; B. Stephens Richards, MD, vice president; John Dormans, MD, secretary; David Skaggs, MD, assistant secretary; James Roach, MD, treasurer; Peter Newton, MD, assistant treasurer; John Birch, MD, Peter Waters, MD, and Michael Vitale, MD, members at large; Matthew Bueche, MD, historian ... The Scoliosis Research Society elected new officers at its Annual Meeting in Miami: Behrooz A. Akbarnia, MD, president; George H. Thompson, MD, president-elect; Thomas G. Lowe, MD, vice president; Randal R. Betz, MD, James W. Ogilvie, MD, and Keith H. Bridwell, MD, past presidents; Paul D. Sponseller, MD, and Nobumasa Suzuki, MD, directors ... New officers for the California Orthopaedic Association include: Larry Herron, MD, president; James Caillouette, MD, first vice president; Mark Wellisch, MD, second vice president; Glenn Pfeffer, MD, secretary/treasurer ... Cato Laurencin, MD, was awarded the Nicolas Andry Award from the Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons; he also won The Clemson Award for Contributions to the Literature from the Society for Biomaterials ... Edward G. McFarland, MD, was recently named the inaugural Wayne H. Lewis Professor of Orthopaedics and Shoulder Surgery in the department of orthopaedic surgery at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

Close Archives | Previous Page