July 1997 AAOS Report

Names in the news

Augustus A. White III, MD, was awarded an honorary Doctor of Medical Science degree by Brown University on the 40th anniversary of his graduation from the college . . . Joseph A. Buckwalter, MD, has received the tenth annual Bristol-Myers Squibb/Zimmer Award for Distinguished Achievement in Orthopaedic Research . . . Augusto Sarmiento, MD, has been named an honorary member of the American Academy of Orthotists and Prosthetists . . . The Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons honored Robert E. Carroll, MD, with a Distinguished Service Award for his outstanding contributions to the medical school and hospital . . . William L. Hassler, MD, was inducted as a Distinguished Practitioner member of the National Academies of Practice . . . Richard A. Geline, MD, was elected president-elect of the Illinois State Medical Society . . . The Musculoskeletal Tumor Society elected Steven Gitelis, MD, president; Ross M. Wilkins, MD, president-elect; Mark C. Gebhardt, MD, secretary/treasurer-elect; and Christopher P. Beauchamp, MD, program chairman.

AAOS Home Previous Page