July 1998 AAOS Report

Names in the news

Stephen P. England, MD, has been selected as a White House Fellow. Dr. England is one of 17 people who will spend one year participating in various educational programs with government officials, journalists and private sector leaders . . . William G. Cole, MD, received the Bristol-Myers Squibb/Zimmer Award for Distinguished Achievement in Orthopaedic Research . . . K. Mason Howard, MD, has been given the Peter Sweetland Award of Excellence by the Physician Insurers Association of America . . . Paul R. Meyer Jr., MD, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Spinal Injury Association . . . The California Orthopaedic Association elected Peter B. Slabaugh, MD, president; Charles B. McElwee, MD, first vice president; Donn A. Fassero, MD, second vice president; Steven D.K. Ross, MD, secretary-treasurer; and Peter J. Thaler, MD, member-at-large, and William J. Buchanan, MD, young orthopaedic representative on the board of directors . . . New officers of the Virginia Orthopaedic Society are Robert P. Nirschl, MD, president; David W. Romness, MD, president-elect; and D. Christopher Young, MD, secretary-treasurer . . . The Mid-America Orthopaedic Association elected Bernard L. Kratochvil, MD, president; John S. Gould, MD, first vice president; Carl L. Nelson, MD, second vice president; Thomas L. Schmidt, MD, secretary; Hamlet A. Peterson, MD, managing director; and Daniel J. Berry, MD, member-at-large.

AAOS Home Previous Page