July 1999 AAOS Report

Names in the news

Stuart L. Weinstein, MD, has been awarded the 1999 Bristol-Myers Squibb/Zimmer Award for distinguished achievement in orthopaedic research . . . Thomas H. Mallory, MD, has been named chairman of the newly-formed department of orthopaedics at Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio . . . Barbara A. VanWinkle, MD, has been named chief of staff at Helen Ellis Memorial Hospital, Tarpon Springs, Fla. . . . Jack J. Beller, MD, has been elected secretary/treasurer of the Oklahoma State Medical Association . . . Frederick M. Azar, MD; Christian A. Guier, MD; and Daniel C. Wascher, MD, were selected by the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine (AOSSM) Traveling Fellowship Committee to be recipients of the 1999 AOSSM traveling fellowship award . . . Recipients of the American Orthopaedic Association/Zimmer 12th Annual Travel Awards Competition for Orthopaedic Residents are Mininder S. Kocher, MD; Michael J. McDermott, MD; Peter J. Millett, MD; Douglas S. Musgrave, MD; and Scott J. Trumble, MD . . . Winners of the Arthroscopy Association of North America research awards are Andreas Weiler, MD, Richard O'Connor Award; John K. Seikiya, MD, Resident/Fellow-Clinical Award; and Christian Latterman, MD, Resident/Fellow-Basic Science Award . . . The Mid-America Orthopaedic Association elected John S. Gould, MD, president; Carl L. Nelson, MD, first vice president; James H. Beaty, MD, second vice president; John J. Callaghan, MD, treasurer; and Timothy C. Fitzgibbons, MD, and Kevin L. Garvin, MD, members-at-large.

AAOS Home Previous Page