June 2000 AAOS Report

Names in the News

Professor Emeritus Alf Nachemson, MD, PhD, received the first Stryker Spine Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Society for the Study of the Lumbar Spine (ISSLS). Now in retirement from Gothenburg, Sweden, where he earned the title of professor emeritus, Dr. Nachemson is working as a research professor at the Department of Orthopaedics at Georgetown University in Washington, D.C. . . . James A. Harder, MD, was elected board president, and Kenneth Guidera, MD, secretary treasurer, at the Association of Children's Prosthetic-Orthotic Clinics' annual meeting in Banff, Alberta, Canada . . . The International Society of Orthopaedic Surgery and Traumatology announces that its National Committee for the Year 2000 includes George Rapp, MD, chairman; Marvin E. Steinberg, MD, chairman-elect; Robert D. D'Ambrosia, MD, secretary-treasurer; Louis U. Bigliani, MD, membership chair; James H. Herndon, MD, past chairman; Chadwick F. Smith, MD, past chairman and president . . . Jeffrey Thomson, MD, was appointed director of Orthopaedic Surgery at Connecticut Children's Medical Center . . . The Southeastern Hand Club elected officers for 2000-2001 at the annual meeting in Park City, Utah. New officers are Bronier Costas, MD, president; Gary Kuzma, MD, president-elect; George Edwards, MD, vice president; Alan Freeland, MD, secretary treasurer; Stuart Haskins MD; historian/parliamentarian; Michael Ugino, MD, director-at-large; and David Ruch, MD, director-at-large . . . William A. Grana, MD, was named head of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, University of Arizona Medical School . . . The Shriners Hospital for Children in Philadelphia announced that Randal R. Betz, MD, was named chief of staff, and James J. McCarthy, MD, was named assistant chief of staff.

AAOS Home Previous Page