June 2002 AAOS Report

Names in the news

The Publicity Club of Chicago honored Sandra R. Gordon, director of AAOS's public education and media relations department, with the coveted Elynore Dolkart Meserow Creativity Award at its annual awards ceremony in Chicago on May 3, 2002. Ms. Gordon was honored with the highest award for creativity in the development of eMotion Pictures: An Exhibition of Orthopaedics in Art, an international art exhibition . . . The Mid-America Orthopaedic Association elected new board members at its 20th annual meeting held in Tucson, Ariz., April 24 to 28, 2002, under the leadership of James H. Beaty, MD, outgoing president. New Board members are Thomas L. Schmidt, MD, president; John J. Callaghan, MD, first vice president; Kevin L. Garvin, MD, second vice president; Kenneth E. Marks, MD, treasurer; and David G. Lewallen, MD . . . The newly elected board of directors for the Southeastern Hand Club, 2002 to 2003, includes George W. Edwards Jr., MD, president; Alan E. Freeland, MD, president elect; J. Stewart Haskin Jr., MD, vice president; Michael R. Ugino, MD, secretary-treasurer; Brian A. Torre, MD, historian-parliamentarian; and Paul C. Perlik, MD, and Ronald J. Neimkin, MD, members at large . . . Frank Noyes, MD, chairman and CEO of the Cincinnati Sportsmedicine and Orthopaedic Center, received the Heimlich Institute Save-a-Life Award on April 12, 2002. Dr. Noyes was recognized for saving three lives by using the Heimlich Maneuver . . . In May 2002, Andrew J. Weiland, MD, was awarded $10,000 by HERMES of Paris, who declared 2002 the "Year of the Hand," and honored Dr. Weiland with this donation for his upper extremity research.

AAOS Home Previous Page