AAOS Report - June, 2005

Names in the news

The Knee Society 2005-2006 executive board includes Russell E. Windsor, MD, president; Gerard A. Engh, MD, first vice president; Michael A. Kelly, MD, second vice president; Douglas A. Dennis, MD, third vice president; Thomas P. Sculco, MD, treasurer (2005-2008); Arlen D. Hanssen, MD, secretary (2004-2008); and Paul F. Lachiewicz, MD, and William L. Healy, MD, members-at-large . . . John A. Bergfeld, MD, was elected president of the International Society of Arthroscopy Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine . . . The John Lachman Society, named in honor of Temple University’s former professor and chairman of orthopaedic surgery, announces its formation and first slate of officers. They are John D. Kelly IV, MD, president; Philip D. Alburger, MD, vice-president; Joseph S. Torg, MD, secretary; and Albert A. Weiss, MD, treasurer. The new Society will support the activities of the John Lachman Research Fund. . . Named after its major donors, the Orthopaedic Associates of the Duluth, Minn. Student Testing Center has 30 laptops and its first wireless connections to a Minneapolis-St. Paul service. Orthopaedic Associates in Duluth is the major donor of the testing center. “We wanted to give back to the school in our region,” said partner Mark J. Carlson, MD . . . The National Quality Forum has appointed two AAOS fellows, Vincent D. Pellegrini Jr., MD, and Jay R. Lieberman, MD, to the Deep Venous Thrombosis (DVT) Taskforce, charged with developing DVT prophylaxis and care guidelines.

Close Archives | Previous Page