AAOS Report - June, 2006

ORS announces award winners

The Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS) announced the winners of several awards during their annual meeting in March. Winner of the William Harris Award is Toru Moro, MD, PhD, and his co-authors, Yoshio Takatori, MD; Kazuhiko Ishihara, PhD, Tomohiro Konno, PhD; Hiroaki Takadama; Noboru Yamawaki; Masayuki Kyomoto, MS; Kozo Nakamura, MD; and Hiroshi Kawaguchi, MD of Tokyo, Japan, for their paper on “Extending longevity of artificial hip joints by surface grafting on cross-linked polyethylene liner with biocompatible MPC polymer.”

The Marshall Urist Award went to Farshid Guilak, PhD, of Durham, N.C.; the ORS/American Orthopaedic Association Alfred R. Shands Award was presented to Jorge O. Galante, MD, of Chicago; and the Arthur Steindler Award went to Hans-Georg Willert, MD, of Göttingen, Germany. Career Development Fellowship Awards were presented to M. Hicham Drissi, PhD, of Rochester, N.Y., and Rex C. Haydon, MD, PhD, of Chicago.

Close Archives | Previous Page