June 1998 AAOS Report

Names in the news

Lewis G. Zirkle Jr., MD, received the 1997 Kiwanis World Service Medal . . . The Ruth Jackson Orthopaedic Society awarded its 1998 Travelling Fellowship to Mary Williams Clark, MD . . . Ernesto Canalis, MD, was awarded the Marshall Urist Award for Excellence in Tissue Regeneration Research by the Orthopaedic Research Society . . . New officers of the Orthopaedic Research Society are Dwight T. Davy, PhD, president; Linda J. Sandell, PhD, president-elect; Steven A. Goldstein, PhD, secretary; Harry E. Rubash, MD, treasurer; and Mark C. Gebhardt, MD; and Nancy E. Lane, MD, members-at-large . . . The Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America elected Michael J. Goldberg, MD, president; Merv R. Letts, MD, first vice president; James H. Beaty, MD, second vice president; Charles T. Price, MD, secretary; and George S. Bassett, MD, treasurer . . . The Arthroscopy Association of North America honored Alexandra Kirkley, MD, with the Richard O'Connor Award. Jorge I. Acevedo, MD, was awarded Resident/Fellow Clinical Essay Award. Michael J. Moskal, MD, received the Resident/Fellow Basic Science Award. Research grants were awarded to V. Franklin Sechriest II, MD; Darren L. Johnson, MD; and David S. Ruch, MD.

AAOS Home Previous Page