June 1999 AAOS Report

Names in the news

Joseph A. Buckwalter, MD, has been named the new head of the department of orthopaedic surgery at University of Iowa College of Medicine. Dr. Buckwalter replaces Reginald R. Cooper, MD, who is retiring after more than 25 years as department head . . . Marc A. Asher, MD, has been named a distinguished alumnus for 1999 by the University of Kansas School of Medicine . . . New officers of the Orthopaedic Research Society are Linda J. Sandell, PhD, president; Gunnar B.J. Andersson, MD, president-elect; Harry E. Rubash, MD, treasurer; Steven A. Goldstein, PhD, secretary; Randy N. Rosier, MD, secretary-elect; and Nancy E. Lane, MD, member-at-large . . . The Illinois Orthopaedic Society elected Paul R. Meyer, MD, president; Chris Dangles, MD, president-elect; Eugene Wittenstrom, MD, vice president; Richard Wixson, MD, secretary; and Wayne Goldstein, MD, treasurer . . . New officers of the Arthroscopy Association of North America are James P. Tasto, MD, president; James C. Esch, MD, first vice president; M. Mike Malek, MD, second vice president; Brian Day, MD, secretary; Stephen J. Snyder, MD, treasurer; and Walter R. Shelton, MD, treasurer-elect.

AAOS Home Previous Page