March 2001 AAOS Report

AAOS awards honorary memberships to Annual Meeting

The AAOS awarded certificates of honorary membership to Mary Lou Farley, Thomas M. Coffman, and Carole Murphy during the Ceremonial Meeting at the AAOS Annual Meeting in San Francisco. Farley, a former member of the OREF National Board, was cited for her efforts to work with orthopaedic surgeons and others in assisting OREF to reach its fund raising and education activities. Coffman, former OREF president and CEO, was cited for his successful efforts in creating the Shands Circle, which encourages gifts of more than $20,000 and in leading the Campaign 2000: Leaders for Orthopaedic Progress which raised $55 million for OREF. Murphy, who was the director of the AAOS convention and meeting services department, was honored for "her keen attention to detail that makes each Annual Meeting work and an astounding ability to handle thousands of different difficult matters at once," said S. Terry Canale, MD, 2000 AAOS president. "These traits have greatly benefited the Academy and have made our Annual Meeting one of the most successful in the nation and world."

AAOS Home Previous Page