March 2002 AAOS Report

Kappa Delta, OREF Awards presented

The 2002 Kappa Delta Sorority and Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) research awards were presented during the Opening Ceremonies of the AAOS Annual Meeting. The Ann Doner Vaughn Award went to Joshua J. Jacobs, MD; Anastasia K. Skipor, MD; Robert M. Urban; Nadim J. Hallab, PhD; Leslie Pattern, RN; and Jonathan Black, PhD, for their paper, "Systemic Implications of Total Joint Replacement." The Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award went to James G. Wright, MD; Gillian A.Hawker, MD; and Peter C. Coyte, PhD, for their paper, "Area Variation and Unmet Need for Orthopaedic Surgical Procedures." Yousef Abu-Amer, PhD, received the Young Investigator Award for his paper, "Regulation of Inflammatory Bone Loss Diseases: Unveiling Molecular Targets for Therapeutic Intervention." Joseph D. Zuckerman, MD, and Kenneth J. Koval, MD, received the OREF Clinical Research Award for their paper, "Hip Fractures in the Elderly: A Comprehensive Clinical and Research Approach."

AAOS Home Previous Page