March 2003 AAOS Report

Elections of Dr. Herndon, 2003 Board of Directors top Annual Meeting highlights

The 70th Annual Meeting of the AAOS offered a full menu of educational opportunities, physician interactions and exposure to an enormous array of new products In addition, the 2003-2004 Board of Directors was elected, and James H. Herndon, MD, assumed the office of president. The newly elected 2003 AAOS Board of Directors consists of James H. Herndon, MD, president; Robert W. Bucholz, MD, first vice president; Stuart L. Weinstein, MD, second vice president; Vernon T. Tolo, MD, first past president; Richard H. Gelberman, MD, second past president; E. Anthony Rankin, MD, secretary; Edward A. Toriello, MD, treasurer; Stephen A. Albanese, MD; Frederick M. Azar, MD; Laura L. Tosi, MD; and Gerald R. Williams Jr., MD, members at large. Leslie L. Altick was elected lay board member.

Representatives of the Board of Councilors on the Board include Maureen Finnegan, MD, chair; Peter J. Mandell, MD, chair-elect; and Frank B. Kelly, MD, secretary.

Representing the Council on Musculoskeletal Specialty Societies (COMSS) on the Board are David G. Lewallen, MD, chair COMSS. Glenn B. Pfeffer, MD, was elected co-chair; and Mark C. Gebhardt, MD, secretary.

Dr. Herndon chose patient safety as the priority initiative that he will promote throughout his term. He noted that "it is time for medical associations to step up to the plate and help devise systems that help reduce errors." To read more about Dr. Herndon's speech, visit the AAOS Web site.

AAOS Home Previous Page