March 2003 AAOS Report

Musculoskeletal researchers honored

Outstanding musculoskeletal researchers were honored on Tuesday, Feb. 4, with the presentation of four awards during the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS) Awards presentation at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans. Kappa Delta Sorority sponsors three of the awards, and the fourth award is sponsored by the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF).

The Ann Doner Vaughan Award was presented to Michael J. Bosse, MD; Ellen J. MacKenzie, PhD; James F. Kellam, MD; Andrew R. Burgess, MD; Lawrence Webb, MD; Marc F. Swiontkowski, MD; Roy Sanders, MD; Alan L. Jones, MD; Mark P. McAndrew, MD; Brendan M. Patterson, MD; Melissa McCarthy, ScD; Thomas G. Travison, PhD; Renan C. Castillo, MS, for Limb Salvage or Amputation Following Severe Lower Extremity Trauma: The LEAP Study.

Clinton T. Rubin, PhD, was presented with the Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award for his study, Revisiting Wolff's Law: The Physiologic Basis and Anabolic Potential of Low Magnitude, High Frequency Mechanical Signals.

The Kappa Delta Award went to Edward Greenfield, PhD; Yanming Bi, PhD; Ashraf A. Ragab, MD; Victor M. Goldberg, MD; Jennifer L. Nalepka, BS; Joscelyn M. Seabold, MS, for their study, Does Endotoxin Contribute to Aseptic Loosening? Winners of the OREF Clinical Research Award were John J. Callaghan, MD; Douglas R. Pedersen, PhD; Richard C. Johnston, MD; Thomas D. Brown, PhD, for The Clinical Biomechanics of Wear in Total Hip Arthroplasty.

AAOS Home Previous Page