March 2003 AAOS Report

Richard A. Brand, MD, was named editor-in-chief of Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research, effective Jan. 1, 2003. Dr. Brand was selected to succeed Carl A. Brighton, MD, PhD, who retired in December 2002 after serving 10 years in the position. The journal, established by the Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons, has had only four editors. Anthony F. DePalma, MD, served from 1952-1966, and Marshall R. Urist, MD, from 1966-1993 . . . For nearly 40 years, Robert L. Forste, MD, has served Indiana University (IU) as a volunteer, as a student and, later, as a practicing orthopaedic surgeon in Columbus, Ind. Dr. Forste is the 2002-2003 national chairman of the IU Alumni Association . . . Col. David W. Polly Jr., MD, was named chair of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation at the Walter Reed Army Medical Center, Washington, D.C. . . . New Orthopaedic Trauma Association officers were installed at the group's business meeting during Specialty Day, Feb. 8, 2003 in New Orleans: Marc F. Swiontkowski, MD, president; Roy W. Sanders, MD, president-elect; Robert A. Probe, MD, secretary; Andrew N. Pollak, MD, chief financial officer; Thomas A. Russell, MD, immediate past-president; and Douglas R. Dirschl, MD; Alan L. Jones, MD; and Michael D. McKee, MD, members-at-large.

AAOS Home Previous Page