March 2004 AAOS Report

Names in the news

Robert M. Hollinshead, MD, FRCSC, of Calgary, Alberta, Canada, was named president of the Canadian Orthopaedic Association at the annual meeting held in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. Dr. Hollinshead will serve as COA president until June 2004 . . . The University of Kansas (KU) School of Medicine has officially invested Kimberly Templeton, MD, KU associate professor of orthopaedic surgery, to the Daugherty Professorship for Women in Medicine and Science. Dr. Templeton is the first holder of the new professorship . . . Physicians of the Ohio Orthopedic Center were honored at the 2004 Arthritis Foundation's 28th Annual Gala on February 7. Peter H. Edwards Jr., MD; Michael A. McShane, MD; and David B. Robie, MD, are board members of the Arthritis Foundation and Center physicians who have long supported the Arthritis Foundation . . . Kenneth E. DeHaven, MD, associate chair of the department of orthopaedics and director of sports medicine at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, was recently appointed senior associate dean for Clinical Affairs and director of the university's Medical Faculty Group . . . Cato T. Laurencin, MD, PhD, a Lillian Pratt Distinguished Professor and chairman of the department of orthopaedic surgery at the University of Virginia was elected as the National Medical Association's Speaker of the House of Delegates at their annual convention and scientific assembly in Philadelphia . . . The Cervical Spine Research Society elected new officers for 2003-2004 at its annual meeting in Scottsdale, Ariz. New officers are Edward N. Hanley Jr., MD, president; Bradford L. Currier, MD, president-elect; and Thomas A. Zdeblick, MD, treasurer . . . Kevin R. Stone, MD, was honored recently with a Doctorate of Humane Letters Honoris Causa from the Pacific Graduate School of Psychology in Palo Alto, Calif., for his philanthropic efforts in the community.

AAOS Home Previous Page