March 1996 AAOS Report

Dr. DeHaven encourages fel1ows; new board named

There are reasons for concern, but not for despair, Kenneth E. DeHaven, MD, said in his First Vice Presidential speech at the Academy's Annual Meeting in Atlanta. The 1996 Academy president acknowledged general fellowship concern for the impending Medicare and Medicaid reforms, proposed cuts in funding for research and graduate medical education, and continuing regulatory constraints from the Federal Trade Commission, Food and Drug Administration and Health Care Finance Administration, as well as the continuing growth and evolution of managed care. "These concerns are becoming so overwhelming that there seems to be a growing sense of despair that there is little, if anything, we as individuals or an Academy can do about it," he said. However, Dr. DeHaven stressed "there are some things that can be done that can make a difference. First, we must be dedicated to keeping the needs of our patients our highest priority. Second, we also need to remember that we possess great expertise in the care of the musculoskeletal system, and while others also treat these problems, many of the things we do are not done by anyone else. Finally, we need to remember that we belong to one of the premier organizations in medicine that remains committed to serving our patients and our membership."

In addition to Dr. DeHaven, other members of the 1996-1997 Board of Directors are Douglas W. Jackson, MD, first vice president; and James D. Heckman, MD, second vice president. D. Eugene Thompson, MD, was named secretary; and James H. Herndon, MD, treasurer. James W. Strickland, MD, is first past president and Bernard F. Morrey, MD, second past president. Because of a bylaws change approved at the Annual Meeting, the position of third past president was eliminated, a fourth member-at-large was authorized and the terms of two members-at-large were extended to two years. Edward A. Rankin, MD, was named member-at-large (over age 45) for a two-year term; John J. Callaghan, MD, member-at-large (under age 45), two years; Serena S. Hu, MD, member-at-large (under age 45), one-year; and Robert A. Winquist, MD, member-at-large (no age designation), one-year. Other board members are David R. Mauerhan, MD, chairman, Board of Councilors; George L. Lucas, MD, chairman-elect, Board of Councilors; Scott B. Scutchfield, MD, secretary, Board of Councilors; Richard F. Kyle, MD, chairman, COMSS; and Richard D. Coutts, MD, chairman-elect, COMSS.

AAOS Home Previous Page