May 2000 AAOS Report

Orthopaedic groups request $405 million for NIAMS funding

Representatives of the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS), Academic Orthopaedic Society (AOS), and American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) met with legislators in Washington, D.C. last month, to request $405 million for FY 2001 budget funding for the National Institute of Arthritis, Musculoskeletal and Skin Disorders (NIAMS). Gary Friedlander, MD, chair of the AAOS Committee on Research, and Richard Gelberman, MD, AAOS first vice president, met with Sen. Richard Durbin (D-Ill.) and Sen. Peter Fitzgerald (R-Ill.). Medical researchers from Texas, including Barbara Boyan, PhD, Jay Mabrey, MD, and David Lichtman, MD, met with several members from the Texas legislative delegation. Their visits included Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchinson (R-Texas) and Rep. Henry Bonilla (R-Texas), key members of the Senate and House Appropriation Subcommittees on Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education. Michael Ehrlich, MD, AOS president, met with Sen. Harry Reid (D-Nev.); Sen. Jack Reed (D-R.I.); and Sen. Lincoln Chafee (R-R.I.) and Rep. Robert Weygand (D-R.I.). Meetings for Cato Laurencin, MD, PhD; and Kenneth Yaw, MD; included a visit to the office of Sen. Arlen Specter (R-Pa.), chair of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee. James Hughes, MD, met with Senate Majority Leader Trent Lott (R-Miss.). Others with Hill visits included, Paul Collins, MD; Wayne Akeson, MD; Steven Garfin, MD; William Garrett, MD, PhD; Michael Schafer, MD; Harold Dick, MD; David Dines, MD; Stanley Gordon, MD; and Cathleen Raggio, MD.

AAOS Home Previous Page