May 2002 AAOS Report

Names in the news

Kim Templeton, MD, has been named the recipient of the University of Kansas Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Award for Excellence in Teaching. She will receive the award at the university's commencement ceremonies at Lawrence, Kansas on May 19, 2002 . . . The Eastern Orthopaedic Association has elected officers for 2002. They are Edward Anthony Rankin, MD, president; Shepard R. Hurwitz, MD, first vice president; John D. Lubahn, MD, second vice president; and David S. Zelouf, MD, member at large . . . Brian D. Solberg, MD, will serve as director of orthopaedic trauma at the Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles. Before accepting the position at Cedars-Sinai, Dr. Solberg practiced orthopaedic surgery in Modesto, Calif. . . . During the AAOS 2002 Annual Meeting in Dallas, the United States section of the International Society of Orthopaedic Surgery and Traumatology (SICOT) elected officers to two-year terms. They are Marvin E. Steinberg, MD, chairman; Robert D'Ambrosia, MD, chairman-elect; Louis U. Bigliana, MD, secretary treasurer; Bruce D. Browner, MD, chairman, membership committee; George F. Rapp, MD, immediate past chairman; and James H. Herndon, MD, MBA, past chairman . . . Scott Scutchfield, MD, has been appointed to work in the Washington D.C. office of U.S. Representative Ernie Fletcher (R-Ky.) as a health care policy fellow/legislative assistant. Dr. Scutchfield, from Danville, Ky., practiced orthopaedic surgery for 20 years at Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center . . . Thomas P. Sculco, MD, was named an honorary member of the Austrian Orthopaedic Society at the society's recent annual meeting.

AAOS Home Previous Page