May 2004 AAOS Report

Names in the news

The International Society of Orthopaedic Surgery and Traumatology (SICOT) elected new officers for 2004-2005 at its annual luncheon in San Francisco. They are: Robert D. D’Ambrosia, MD, chairman; Louis U. Bigliani, MD, chairman-elect; Bruce Browner, MD, secretary-treasurer, and John P. Dormans, MD, membership chairman . . . The Federation of Spine Associations (FOSA) elected new officers for 2004-2005 at the annual board meeting in San Francisco. J. Kenneth Burkus, MD, was elected president, and Jeffrey D. Coe, MD, will continue to serve as secretary treasurer . . . The newly elected 2004 Board of Directors for the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons includes: Richard F. Santore, MD, president; Joseph C. McCarthy, MD, first vice president; William J. Hozack, MD, second vice president; Daniel Berry, MD, third vice president; Carlos J. Lavernia, MD, treasurer; and James B. Stiehl, MD, secretary . . . The Knee Society announces its 2004 executive board: Merrill A. Ritter, MD, president; Russell E. Windsor, MD, first vice president; Gerard A. Engh, MD, second vice president; Michael A. Kelly, MD, third vice president; Arlen Hanssen, MD, secretary; and Douglas A. Dennis, MD, treasurer . . . The newly elected officers of the Orthopaedic Trauma Association (OTA) are: Roy W. Sanders, MD, president; J. Paul Tornetta, III, MD, president-elect; Robert A. Probe, MD, secretary; Andrew N. Pollak, MD, chief financial officer; and Marc F. Swiontkowski, MD, immediate past-president . . . Two chairs were recently invested at the University of Arkansas. Jack Vander Schilden, MD, professor in the department of orthopaedic surgery, was the inaugural recipient of the Jackson T. Stephens chair in orthopaedic sports medicine. T. Glenn Pait, MD, professor of neurosurgery and orthopaedics, was the inaugural recipient of the Jackson T. Stephens chair in spine surgery. Both chairs were endowed at $2.1 million . . . Kenneth J. Guidera, MD, was elected president of the Association of Children’s Prosthetic-Orthotic Clinics . . . Officers were elected at the Ruth Jackson Orthopaedic Society annual luncheon: Ellen Raney, MD, president; Kimberly J. Templeton, MD, vice president; Mary I. O’Connor, MD, secretary; and Elizabeth A. Quellette, MD, treasurer.

AAOS Home Previous Page