November 2002 AAOS Report

Names in the news

The American Orthopaedic Association (AOA) and Zimmer, Inc. awarded Michael W. Chapman, MD, the first annual AOA-Zimmer Award for Distinguished Contributions to Orthopaedics at the 115th annual AOA meeting, June 1-4, 2002 in Victoria, British Columbia . . . Lawrence E. Rosenthal, PhD, chief operating officer of AAOS, was elected to the board of directors of the American Association of Medical Society Executives (AAMSE) during its 2002 annual meeting, July 24-28, in San Francisco. AAMSE is a national association of professionals who lead medical societies . . . At a recent meeting in Chapel Hill, N.C., the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, Inc. elected the following officers: Richard E. Grant, MD, president; James H. Beaty, MD, president-elect; Christopher D. Harner, MD, secretary; and Peter J. Stern, MD, treasurer. The two new directors-elect are Maribeth Ezaki, MD, and John G. Seiler III, MD . . . The Massachusetts Orthopaedic Association elected the following officers: R. Scott Oliver, MD, president; Donald H. Hangen, MD, vice president; and Kenneth D. Polivy, MD, secretary-treasurer . . . Carl L. Nelson, MD, chairman, department of orthopaedic surgery at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, was inducted as the first holder of the "Pat and Willard Walker Chair of Orthopaedics" on Aug. 9, 2002 in Little Rock, Ark. . . . Lucianio Dias, MD, was elected second vice president of the American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine at the annual meeting in New Orleans.

AAOS Home Previous Page