November 1995 AAOS Report

1996 Nominating Committee announced

The Academy has elected six fellows and one alternate to serve on the 1996 Nominating Committee. They are Bruce D. Browner, MD (Farmington, Conn.); Reginald R. Cooper, MD (Iowa City, Iowa); Alvin H. Crawford, MD (Cincinnati); Thomas G. Grace, MD (Albuquerque, N.M.); Marc F. Swiontkowski, MD (Seattle); James R. Urbaniak, MD (Durham, N.C.); and alternate Letha Y. Griffin, MD (Atlanta). Former Academy president Augusto Sarmiento, MD, has been named chairman of the 1996 Nominating Committee by the Board of Directors. The committee will meet in early January to discuss candidates for the following positions: Membership Committee member (from the Eastern region); nominees to the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (four nominees); two at-large members (under age 45 at time of election) for one-year terms; one at-large member (age 45 or older at time of election) for a one-year term; secretary; treasurer; and second vice president. In addition, if the fellowship adopts a proposed bylaw amendment at the second business meeting of the Annual Meeting, the term of one at-large member under age 45 will be extended to two years; the term of the at-large member age 45 or older will be extended to two years; and one additional member-at-large will be elected. This new member-at-large position will have no age designation. The recommended slate will be put into nomination at the first business meeting of the Annual Meeting on Friday, Feb. 23. Academy members should forward recommendations of individuals who they would like to suggest for positions (along with CVs, if possible) to: Augusto Sarmiento, MD, 1996 Nominating Committee, c/o AAOS, 6300 N. River Rd., Rosemont, Ill. 60018.

AAOS Home Previous Page