November 1998 AAOS Report

Names in the news

Carl L. Nelson, MD, was the recipient of the Distinguished Faculty Award given by the Arkansas Caduceus Club . . . New members-at-large of the Board of Directors of the American Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Society are Judith W. Smith, MD, and Robert B. Anderson, MD . . . New officers of the Scoliosis Research Society are Courtney W. Brown, MD, president; Harry L. Shufflebarger, MD, president-elect; Alvin H. Crawford, MD, first vice president; Denis S. Drummond, MD, secretary; and William A. Carr, MD, treasurer. Elected as members-at-large are John B. Emans, MD; James W. Ogilvie, MD; John V. Banta, MD; and Thomas G. Lowe, MD . . . The Clinical Orthopaedic Society elected Joseph C. DeFiore Jr., MD, president; E. Boone Brackett III, MD, first president-elect; Stephen K. Bubb, MD, second president-elect; J. Donald Opgrande, MD; secretary-treasurer; Thomas Meirink, MD, membership chairman; Robert H. Haralson III, MD, librarian-historian; and James J. Hamilton, MD; Arthur Manoli II, MD; and Magruder S. Corban, MD, members-at-large.

AAOS Home Previous Page