November 1999 AAOS Report

NASS awards research grants

Research grant award winners were announced at the 14th annual meeting of the North American Spine Society in Chicago, Oct. 20-23. Primary researchers and their grant awards were: Joseph Kowalski, MD, "The Effects of Andriamycin (Doxorubicin) on Spinal Fusion"; Helen Gruber, PhD, "Tissue Engineering for the Intervertebral Disc"; Neil Crawford, PhD, "Biomechanical Effects of Laminoplasty, Laminectomy and Discectomy: Stenosis and Stability"; and Howard S. An, MD, "Gene Gun-Mediated Gene Transfer of Osteogenic Protein-1 (OP-1) to Promote Regeneration of the Intervertebral Disc in Rabbits."

AAOS Home Previous Page