October 2000 AAOS Report

Names in the News

The American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine elected its Board of Directors for 2000-2001 on June 20 at its annual meeting in Sun Valley, Idaho. New officers are Walton W. Curl, MD, president; Clarence L. Shields Jr., MD, president-elect; Peter J. Fowler, MD, FRCS, vice president; William A. Grana, MD, secretary; Jack B. Ryan, MD, treasurer; and Bert R. Mandelbaum, MD, Frederick M. Azar, MD, and Carol C. Teitz, MD, members-at-large . . . The Clinical Orthopaedic Society elected new officers at its annual meeting in Birmingham, Ala. from September 13 to 16. The new officers are Stephen Bubb, MD, president; Robert Haralson, MD, first president elect; J. Donald Opgrande, MD, second president elect; James Hamilton, MD, treasurer; and G. James Sammarco, MD, librarian-historian . . . The Puerto Rico Society of Orthopaedics and Traumatology in early September elected its new board. Norman Ramirez-Lluch, MD, was elected president; Rafael Fernandez-Soltero, MD, vice president; and Jose M. Santiago-Figueroa, MD, secretary-treasurer

AAOS Home Previous Page