October 2000 AAOS Report

Bone and Joint Decade support keeps growing

Endorsements for the Bone and Joint Decade continue from around the country and the world. As of Sept. 22, 37 U.S. states and 26 national governments have declared either the full decade or a Bone and Joint Year: Alaska, Delaware and Virginia are the latest states. In addition, three cities, Tulsa, Okla.; Columbia, S.C. and Louisville, Ky. and one county, Jefferson County, Ky., have proclamations.

The only states that have not made the declaration are Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, Utah, Washington and Wyoming. Members of the Board of Councilors and the state orthopaedic societies are working in those states to secure adoptions of the Bone and Joint Decade. If you can help in this process or want more information, call Susan Koshy in the AAOS Health Policy Department at (847) 384-4314.

AAOS Home Previous Page